The Falling Complete Series by Linn B. Halton / #Review / @LinnBHalton

As promised, today is review day for this series. Read on to hear my thoughts!

Book One: Falling

download (1)Ceri thinks she sees angels… everywhere. Love is a powerful emotion, but can it change the course of someone’s destiny? This is a romance story that explores the possibility of there being something more than just the ‘here and now’.

This first book in the series, Falling, introduces us to Ceri. An ordinary woman who’s not so ordinary. She thinks she sees angels and it’s done nothing but alienate her. Her relationship with her parents is strained, her twin Seb, doesn’t understand. She can’t even tell the truth about everything to her best friend Sheena, though she’s understanding. When an unexpected turn of events finds Ceri unemployed, she finds herself involved in a relationship with Alex, her former employee. And as the the truth about Alex unravels, Ceri begins to learn about who she really is.

This initial novella intrigued me from the get-go. My heart went out to Ceri, as it was immediately clear how her gift has alienated her from everyone. Even when she’s offered a chance at true love, she has trouble opening up to Alex. The entire concept of angels and how they interact with the mortal world reeled me in from the start.

Book Two: Forbidden

“I’m in a tunnel—it’s dark and yet little rays, like pinpricks of sunshine breaking through foliage, seep towards me from every angle.” Love is a powerful emotion, but can it change the course of someone’s destiny? This is a romance story that explores the possibility of there being something more than just the ‘here and now’.

In this second book, Ceri is reunited with Alex, but learns immediately through a connection with her ethereal self that she and Alex are not destined to be together. She keeps this from Alex, however, refusing to admit the truth. Alex has some secrets of his own. As his past catches up with him he attempts to hide it from Ceri, even after their engagement.

Out of all of the novellas, Forbidden, tested my commitment to Ceri most. Ceri again walks out on Alex, which seemed extremely selfish and cruel to me. There was also quite a bit of information related to the angelic plain which, and I’ll freely admit this, went over my head. However, I wanted to see where the story would go, so I had to stay with it. In book one I was completely attuned to Ceri, but after book two I wanted to see what would happen with Alex!

Book Three: Forever

18749522Ceri has run out of Alex’s life again, this time because she believe’s he’s destined to be with his former childhood sweetheart, Alisha. Her work on the spiritual plane has truly inspired Alisha to heal and move on. Yet, she can’t let go of Alex. He heart cries out for him, even though she’s learned they were never destined to be together. Then there’s Ethan. When she first met Ethan, she couldn’t stand him. Worse, she resented his message that Alex wasn’t the one for her. When their paths cross again, though, she views him differently and a friendship develops, but could it be more?

In this third novella, we don’t see much of Alex at the beginning. Instead, we experience his pain mainly through others. I loved the character of Ethan in this novella. He really came alive for me and I found myself truly interested in his developing relationship with Ceri. Halton does a great job of switching character loyalties from Ethan to Alex and back again in this novella. Forever was a true roller-coaster ride, with a surprise ending that left me flabbergasted.

Book Four: Bonus Content

The bonus content is a collection of various points of view after the third novella ends. Once again, Halton surprises us with an interesting turn of events. Without giving too much away, I didn’t see this end coming at all! Read all four novellas as part of the complete collection, Falling, and follow Ceri’s amazing journey.

Bottom-line: Linn B. Halton has done it again. A must read for angel-lovers everywhere!

About the Book

by Linn B. Halton

Publisher: Harper Impulse

 thinks she sees angels … everywhere. She struggles to keep separate what feels like two very different sides to her life. As a manager in an advertising company she’s been working with the gorgeous Alex for two years. The have a friendship based upon the image she portrays whilst she’s at work and it helps to keep her sane. One mad, crazy night spent sharing their secrets and a lot of wine result in them ending up in bed together and their relationship changes. When Alex explains that the reason he doesn’t date is because someone broke his heart, how can Ceri admit that she feels a deep connection to him?

Ceri knows she’s different. What she doesn’t fully appreciate, is that her task in life is to correct a series of incidents that affect some of the people’s lives with whom she comes into contact. She’s simply putting right little errors that could ripple outwards and change the course of their destiny. When she finds herself getting pulled into things that happen around her, how can she prove that she really has made a difference? Is it all in her head?

She’s alone for a reason; she’s not meant to fall in love in her earthly life. Alex is supposed to cross paths with her and help Ceri during a phase where she begins to question the signs she’s being given. It’s meant to be a turning point for them both—but in opposite directions. They are destined to travel very different paths … but Ceri doesn’t know that and neither does Alex …

Goodreads / Amazon / B&N

About the Author

Linn B Halton lives in the small village of Lydbrook, Gloucestershire in the UK, but was born in Bristol. She resides there with her husband and cat with ‘catitude’- Mr Tiggs. Linn began writing in March 2009 and her debut novel was published in February 2011. In a recent interview Linn was asked about genres:

“From a very young age I knew romantic fiction was always going to be my genre. I am, and will always be, madly in love with love! Whether that’s love of life, a partner, or the things I’m passionate about.

My stories are about love, life and real relationships – but romance is always the one thing that holds each story together. Often there’s a light, psychic touch and I never dreamed I would write drawing upon my personal psychic experiences. But as my interest and understanding has grown in the subject, it is now such a part of my life it finds its way into my fictional tales. However, what is heartening is that most of my experiences have been uplifting and it’s wonderful to know loved ones are around me always. I hope it will make readers stop and wonder ‘What if?’

The result is that I get a lot of mail from readers who have had similar experiences and some are sharing theirs for the first time with me. I always feel that’s something rather special and for which I’m very grateful.”

Love, life and beyond… but it’s ALWAYS about the romance!

Linn is published by HarperImpulse and Sapphire Star Publishing.

Linn is the editor of Loveahappyending Lifestyle emagazine.

Website / Twitter / Facebook

2 thoughts on “The Falling Complete Series by Linn B. Halton / #Review / @LinnBHalton

  1. A Monday ‘hi’ from across the water and a virtual hug for a lovely, lovely review! It’s an honour to visit the Kingdom of magick and thanks so much for being a part of the tour and for taking the time to read & review Angels. Lxx

    1. Hi back, Linn! Ha, thanks for much for letting me be part of the tour. The novellas were so much fun. You did throw me for a loop, though! Guessing to the end. 🙂

Comments are closed.